Specialized Information for:

Long-Term Care ConsumersFamily MembersAdvocates

Resources in SD

Choose another state Suggest information update

State Ombudsman Program

Donna Fischer , State LTC Ombudsman

SD Division of Adult Services & Aging
Department of Social Services

700 Governors Drive
Pierre, sd  57501-2291
Work: (605) 773-5387
Fax: (605) 773-4085
Website: https://dhs.sd.gov/ltss/ombudsman.aspx

Local Ombudsman Programs

Bobbi Schurz , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

116 E 11th St.
Mitchell, sd  57301
Work: 605-995-8000 extension: 222 or 1-800-231-8346 extension: 222
Area Served: Aurora, Beadle, Brule, Buffalo, Davison, Gregory, Hanson, Hughes, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Sanborn, Stanley, Todd, and T

Christina Ruml , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

2001 9th Ave. SW Ste. 300
Watertown, sd  57201
Work: 605-882-5003 extension: 205 or 1-866-239-6787 extension: 205
Area Served: Brookings, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Marshall, Moody, and Roberts Counties

Maria Poppe , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

3133 N. Spruce Street Ste. 200
Yankton, sd  57078
Work: 605-668-3030 extension: 209 or 1-800-455-5241 extension 2019
Area Served: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Clay, Douglas, Hutchinson, Lincoln, Turner, Union, and Yankton Counties.

Brad Mathison , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

811 E. 10th Street Dept. 4
Sioux Falls, sd  57103
Work: 605-367-5444 extension: 416 or 1-866-801-5421 extension 416
Area Served: Lake, Lincoln (only facilities with a Sioux Falls address), McCook, Miner, and Minnehaha Counties

Dan Frieden , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

510 N. Cambell , PO Box 2440
Rapid City, sd  57701
Work: 605-394-2525 extension: 302 or 1-800-644-2914 extension: 302
Area Served: Bennett, Butte, Custer, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, and Zieba

Nikala Fettig , Local Ombudsman

Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

3401 10th Ave. SE
Aberdeen, sd  57401
Work: 605-626-3160 extension: 213 or 1-866-239-8855 extension 213
Area Served: Brown, Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hyde, McPherson, Perkins, Potter, Spink, Sully, and Walworth Counties.

Citizen Advocacy Groups

South Dakota Advocate for NH Reform

Denise Korb , Chair

PO Box 6900
Rapid City, SD  57709


Office on Aging

Justin Williams , Division Director
Department of Social Services Division of Adult Services and Aging - Adult Protective Services

700 Governors Drive
Pierre, sd  57501-2291
Work: 605-773-3656
Fax: 605-773-6834
Website: http://dss.sd.gov/elderlyservices/index.asp

Protection and Advocacy System

Tim Neyhart , Executive Director
SD Advocacy Services

221 South Central Ave., Suite 38
Pierre, sd  57501
Work: 605-224-8294
Fax: 605-224-5125
Website: http://www.sdadvocacy.com

Quality Improvement Organization

KePro South Dakota

, sd  
Work: (844) 430-9504

State Attorneys General

Marty J Jackley , Attorney General

1302 East Highway 14 , Suite 1
Pierre, sd  57501-8501
Work: 605-773-3215
Fax: 605-773-4106
Website: http://www.sdadvocacy.com

Adult Protective Service Agency

Cassie Lindquist , Executive Director

700 Governors Drive
Pierre, sd  57501
Work: 605-773-3656

Licensure and Certifications

Chris Qualm , Administrator
Office of Health Care Facilities

600 East Capital Ave
Pierre, sd  57501-2536
Work: 605-773-3356
Fax: 605-773-5683

Medicaid Agency

Kirby Stone , Division Director, Medical Services
Department of Social Services

700 Governors Drive , Kneip Building
Pierre, sd  57501-2291
Work: 605-773-3495

Medicaid Fraud Unit Control

Paul Cremer , Director
Office of The Attorney General

1302 E Highway 14 , Suite 4
Pierre, sd  57501-8501
Work: 605-773-4102
Fax: 605-773-6279

Choose another stateSuggest information update